Skip to content

Thinking, But Not Really Thinking – NaPoWriMo #25

April 25, 2010

The writing prompt/poetic exercise for today was to keep an ear out for the first sentence (or even word) that was said to me after I read this prompt, and take that word/sentence — it could be “mango” or “exemplar” or “have you ever been to this Ethiopian restaurant?” — and build a poem around it. Trust in fate.

The first sentence I heard this morning was, “[Are] you down there?”

Thinking, But Not Really Thinking

“You down there?” she asked,
Such a simple phrase, yet so potentially,
Rife with meaning,
“Yes,” I answer slowly,
But is that what I really mean?
Am I here?
I certainly feel “down”,
And I suppose, physically, I am here,
But who among us is really here, I mean really?

Not to wax too philosophical,
But rather, stick with the poetical,
I keep my answer brief,
Though my brain is on a one-way short-circuit;
Chiweenies abound in my thought process,
Leaping and snapping at each other,
Over and over and over,
A confusing snarl of misinterpretation, and,
Like Godot, waiting.

A kind word, thought, or deed,
Brings with it, baggage of a sort,
A certain, “je ne sais quoi”,
To whit- I am. Therefore, I think.
At least, I think I am,
Thinking, but not really thinking;
You can’t be too sure about anything these days.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 4:02 pm

    I think I’m always thinking too much about how I’m thinking too much.

    Aaroooooo! had to get a howl in there.

    love your blog 1) for all things poetry 2) because you’re reading Strunk & White in your
    profile pic.

Leave a Reply

