Skip to content

“Visions Are Like That” – NaPoWriMo #26 “get scrappy” prompt

April 26, 2010

Here was the prompt for today’s ReadWritePoem NaPoWriMo:

“Find a poem that you started, or perhaps one you abandoned. Read it through. Highlight the lines or phrases that please you. Do not cross anything out (yet)! You now have two choices: finish the poem or take the parts you like and begin a brand new piece.”

Mine is from a fragment from 13th July, 2004.

“Green dress,
Red hair, high heels;
Anomaly in this sweltering
heat,”

Here is what I came up with. Enjoy!

Visions Are Like That

Green dress,
Red hair, high heels;
Anomaly in this sweltering
-heat,
How do you stay so cool?
Not a hair out of place,
Not one bead of sweat,
Anywhere on the alabaster
Perfection,
-of your skin.
Who are you waiting for?
What demigod could catch your eye,
Or your heart?
I imagine myself turning the corner,
Thoughts coming into view,
You look up and a subtle smile plays,
-on your lips;
Is that a kiss I see,
Lingering patiently, immovable as my eyes
-from yours?
I sigh and visit a scuff on my loafer,
Anything to ease the heart-bursting inside,
When I return my gaze to seek you,
You are nowhere to be seen;
Visions are like that.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 5:51 pm

    I like it.
    Alabaster perfection…cool.
    Demigod…like that, too.

    I like all of it.

    Jean

  2. April 26, 2010 8:35 pm

    Thank you, Ms. Jean.

Leave a Reply

