Skip to content

Cinco de Mayo

May 5, 2010

A little spur of the moment rhyme to get in the feel of the day.

It’s the 5th of May,
The sun is shining,
And all the birds are singing,
To start of this day,
I can only say,
My poetry bells are ringing,
Whether you live in the hills,
The desert, or ‘burbs,
Or even down on the “buy-oh” (bayou),
I want to wish you, one and all,
A happy Cinco de Mayo!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 8:08 am

    Excuse my antipodean ignorance. But what is the Cinco de Mayo, may I ask?

    • May 5, 2010 9:19 am

      No excuse necessary, my antipodean friend.

      The holiday of Cinco De Mayo, The 5th Of May, commemorates the victory of the Mexican militia over the French army at The Battle Of Puebla in 1862. It is primarily a regional holiday celebrated in the Mexican state capital city of Puebla and throughout the state of Puebla, with some limited recognition in other parts of Mexico, and especially in U.S. cities with a significant Mexican population. It is not, as many people think, Mexico’s Independence Day, which is actually September 16.

      Thanks for checking the site out. You may also want to visit http://undeadpoets.wordpress.com

      Tim Keeton
      (Undead)Poet / Wizard/ Teller-of-tales

  2. May 5, 2010 11:47 pm

    I was really surprised when I moved to the border that Cinco De Mayo is almost completely ignored. Thus I drink a martini instead of a margarita (plus I like breaking rules).

    Yay for the singing and the shining and ringing. ‘-)

  3. May 6, 2010 1:47 pm

    Funny poem, Timoteo!!

    But as didn’t see this post until today, I must wish you a a happy Cinco de Seis! 🙂

  4. May 6, 2010 1:55 pm

    Muchos Gracias!

Leave a Reply

