Skip to content

The Undead – (for Writer’s Digest – Poetic Asides “Monster Prompt” 088)

May 12, 2010

Posted this Thursday, May 13, 2010 3:53:28 AM (GMT Daylight Time, UTC+01:00) on Writer’s Digest’s Poetic Asides by Robert Lee Brewer

Robert said, “For this week’s prompt, pick a monster, make that the title of your poem, and then write the poem. Possible titles: “Frankenstein’s Monster,” “Dracula,” “Grover,” “Hitler,” etc. Or perhaps, you have a personal monster, which could be a person, an addiction, an event, etc.”

Here was my offering:

Listen to this poem

The Undead

Yearning, burning,
crawling, itching,
unpleasant sensation,
in my core;
nothing stops it;
one thing soothes it;
I do not want this life,
anymore.

I see the bluish-purple,
throbbing; I hear the,
careless beat it makes;
to ease my craving,
nothing matters;
I’ll do whatever deed it takes.

Pearlescent sharpness,
rubies glistening,
streaming glissando of,
life-stealing pleasure;
there’s only so much,
but I’ll have it all;
drain you to your,
fullest measure.

And now to sleep,
perchance to dream
(I think I’ve heard that
line before);
temporarily sated,
pain abated,
until I wake at night,
once more.

So stranger, if you find me,
sleeping,
pray for me, I beg you please,
I needs must end,
my mournful weeping,
you’re the cure, and I
disease.

Tim Keeton
(Undead)Poet / Wizard / Teller-of-tales

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jodi MacArthur permalink
    May 13, 2010 2:41 pm

    I like this ‘Undead’ poem
    This stanza got me

    Pearlescent sharpness,
    rubies glistening,
    streaming glissando of,
    life-stealing pleasure;

    Really REALLY like that.
    cool prompt. I’m wrote one up for Frankenstein. Typically, anything other than my haiku kind of…sucks. Or let me put it this way. I don’t feel very confident about it. We’ll see. I might post. 😉

  2. May 13, 2010 3:31 pm

    Oh, pleeeaaassse, Ms. Jodi! Don’t leave me on tenterhooks!

    I am glad you liked this.

    That stanza was my fave as well.

Leave a Reply

