Skip to content

“Flash-Poem” (from the Undead Poet Society site)

May 16, 2010

I just wrote this over on The Undead Poets Society site, and wanted to include it here, as well. I hope you enjoy it.

Ok, in true (undead)fashion, I am going to create a (probably bad) “flash-poem” (if there is such a term – if not, you heard it coined hear first, folks) right now, on the fly.

Hear goes…

I look into my mind’s eye,
and see visions from my past.
They’re blurry here, clearer there,
but never meant to last.
My father died ten years ago,
his death a tragic scene;
I never realized until now,
Just what his loss would mean.
My son was barely four years old,
but his memories are clear.
Although he knows how great dad was,
I still wish dad was here.
I need him now, more than I knew,
I would when he was living.
I have regrets of things I did,
and now am past forgiving.
I realize now, how wise he was,
how much he cared for us;
and know the time I had with him,
was very much a plus.
In closing out this simple verse,
I would like to say:
“I love you, dad, and always will;
we’ll meet again someday.”

Wow! That came out of nowhere and was somewhat of a surprise. It is all true, but I had no idea I would write about my dad.

Oh well, it is written and will now be posted.

Rhyme on!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 8:21 am

    Tim,

    It IS beautiful. I’m one of those old fashioned people who believes that real poetry comes from the heart. And it looks like your heart has surprised you once again.

    Blessings,
    Jean

    • May 17, 2010 8:47 am

      Thanks. Ms. Jean. I can always count on you or Ms. Donna to brighten my day. 😉

      I often write my poetry in quick bursts of inspiration, and many are my first and only draft. That doesn’t necessarily make them any good, but it’s what I do.

      This was a live exercise in just that – what I termed “Flash-Poetry”. I had no idea, other than the first line which came to me, what I was going to write.

      I lost my father, suddenly, unexpectedly, almost ten years ago, and I still miss him and his wisdom today.

      Blessings, Tim

  2. May 17, 2010 4:12 pm

    Aw, I like this Tim. I should your Dad would have too. ❤

  3. May 28, 2010 10:33 am

    Hi Tim,
    Thank you for your comments on Rejected. I like your site and particularly your poem about your Dad it is so good and brings back memories. I wrote a poem about my Mum when she passed away many years ago. Best Wishes, malctg The Foureyed Poet.

Leave a Reply

