Skip to content

Tadhg’s Lament

June 11, 2010

Here’s a little something I wrote (in a somewhat highland-Scots style) over at the Undead Poets site. Enjoy!

The cottage lies empty,
The hearthfire is dark,
and soon I’ll nae more be amongst ye,
For my bonnie lass,
Has gone to her grave,
And I’ll find one too, come what may.

Yon heather is blowing,
O’er her sad remains,
Our bairn rests within where she bides,
For my bonnie lass,
Has gone to her grave,
And I’ll find one too, soon besides.

Perhaps I will find,
My rest in the sea,
As I sail westwards to Skye,
For my bonnie lass,
Has gone to her grave,
And I’ll find one too, by and by.

If ne’er you see,
My sad face again,
Remember my love every day,
For my bonnie lass,
Has gone to her grave,
And I’ll find one too, soon I pray.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 6:50 pm

    sad, your true passion shows for her…
    beautiful poem!

  2. mairmusic permalink
    June 11, 2010 8:33 pm

    Bobby Burns is smiling down on ye! So musical– is it a song?
    http://mairmusic.wordpress.com/

    • June 11, 2010 8:39 pm

      Wow, thanks for that! Rabbie Burns hisself, eh?
      If I came up with a chorus/refrain for it, then yes, I suppose it could be.
      Thanks for the idea.

  3. June 14, 2010 6:34 am

    beautifylly sad, beautifully written , well done Tim.

  4. June 14, 2010 11:24 am

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/06/13/thursday-poets-rally-week-22-poetry-awards-more/

    three poetry awards,
    4 general awards…
    Enjoy the moment.
    Thank you for the contribution on poetry..

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Tadhg’s Lament « Tim Keeton – A Writer's Tale -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

