Skip to content

In the summertime – A (flash)Sonnet

July 2, 2010

Listen to this sonnet

In the summertime, when birds are singing,
Comes my lady fair, to bathe in the stream,
Diaphanous gown, to her form clinging,
Gods! what a beauty; lo, is this a dream?
Perfect in form and gracious in movement,
There’s none to her I can ever compare,
Cheeks blushéd rosy, eyes of blue, brilliant,
When she is in sight, my lungs have no air.
My thoughts go a flutter as she walks by,
Wouldst I could have her O, God up above,
To voice my affections, I needs must try,
Waxing poetic, I pour forth my love.

    She sees me not, nor gives ear to my plea,
    What shall I do now? O, misery me.

For Jingle’s Thursday Poets’ Rally Week 24

22 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2010 12:50 pm

    that’s very beautiful!

  2. July 2, 2010 12:58 pm

    …if only I could do YOUR sonnets for school lol. I usually don’t like them, but this is beautiful!

  3. July 2, 2010 1:03 pm

    I think you had fun with this one! Good job. Not clear: is this your entry to Poets Rally, Time?

  4. July 2, 2010 1:23 pm

    Beautiful sonnet; the flow like the stream she bathes in…I’m cheering for her to please turn to see him and hear his lovely words. Heartspell

  5. July 2, 2010 1:30 pm

    great write. I guess you followed the rules in writing this. I love the imagination of a man not man enough to tell his admirer how much he admires her. You did great in this and the flow and words were just perfect to fit. Cheers bro.

    • July 2, 2010 1:38 pm

      Thanks, Emmanuel. It was my first sonnet. I thought I would give it a try.

  6. July 2, 2010 2:13 pm

    Well Done — I was sighing by the end of the sonnet —

    Your words were so descriptive and captivating I was imaging a scene in my mind’s eye from the Renaissance.

    Joanny

  7. July 2, 2010 2:46 pm

    Beautiful words so creatively descriptive..I love coming here! x

  8. July 3, 2010 12:37 am

    Great imagery. I love your style too.

  9. July 4, 2010 10:35 am

    Love sonnets, and love the way you swirl the images around from line to line – really great I will definitely be back to read more!

  10. July 7, 2010 10:54 pm

    This was your first sonnet??? Good God, Tim!!! It sure didn’t feel like one… 🙂
    It was fabulous! Those unheard words, those unseen twitches…. that unknown admirer…
    Sheer brilliance, man! Too good!

  11. August 8, 2010 9:46 am

    wat???first sonnet???no way!!!its awesome:)

Leave a Reply

